Laws of cricket: One run cost a century and recording a no ball | Cricket coaching, fitness and tips

Laws of cricket: One run cost a century and recording a no ball

This edition of Laws of Cricket, in association with the International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring, covers some more tricky questions of the Laws.

Many times on the pitch (and after the game) we have come to discuss whether a controversial situation should be allowed or not. There are precious few players with a deep enough understanding of the laws for our arguments to be resolved, but many times it's the players who also act as umpires. Now we can consult a team of expert experienced umpires for the answers to those tricky questions.

You can submit your own questions to the umpires here.


One run cost a century!


"I was taking my turn with the scorebook. By the fourth ball of the last over of the match, the scores were level, with one of our batsmen on 98. He then hit the ball into the covers and ran a quick single. After they had completed this run, the ball slowly trickled over the boundary. He waved his bat in the air as he now realised he had reached his century. But the other scorer then said that a result had been achieved and the match was over as soon as the first run had been completed and therefore this batsman had ended up on 99 not out. Was he correct?”


Your colleague in the score box was right. Once that single was completed your team had won. If the batsman had stayed in his crease, not run and the ball had crossed the boundary, he would have scored 4 runs and ended on 102 not out!

Law 21 The result (Open Learning Manual Page 62)

Recording a No ball


"Please explain something to this confused part-time scorer! I heard and saw the bowler’s end umpire call and signal No ball and saw the batsmen run one run. The umpire then turned to me and signalled a No ball, followed by the signal for a Bye. Should I have recorded 1 for the No ball and another 1 for the Bye?”


No. He gave you the No ball signal to tell you that all runs scored were No ball extras - the Bye signal was to indicate that the batsman did not hit the ball. In this case the batting side do receive a total of 2 runs – both No ball extras - the 1 run penalty for bowling the No ball, plus 1 for the ‘run’ they took. These are both recorded in the No ball extras box. 2 runs are debited against the bowler in the over box and noted in the ‘No balls delivered’ box in the scorebook.

Law 24.13 No ball (Open Learning Manual Page 76)

Remember you can submit your own umpiring and scoring questions here.






Want more tips on how to umpire? Get instant access to The Umpiring Survival Guide on PitchVision Academy. Now with a free bonus 91 page quizbook.



Broadcast Your Cricket Matches!

Ever wanted your skills to be shown to the world? PV/MATCH is the revolutionary product for cricket clubs and schools to stream matches, upload HD highlights instantly to Twitter and Facebook and make you a hero!

PV/MATCH let's you score the game, record video of each ball, share it and use the outcomes to take to training and improve you further.

Click here for details.