Laws of Cricket: Umpires prevented play? | Cricket coaching, fitness and tips

Laws of Cricket: Umpires prevented play?

This edition of Laws of Cricket, in association with the International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring, covers some more tricky questions of the Laws.

Many times on the pitch (and after the game) we have come to discuss whether a controversial situation should be allowed or not. There are precious few players with a deep enough understanding of the laws for our arguments to be resolved, but many times it's the players who also act as umpires. Now we can consult a team of expert experienced umpires for the answers to those tricky questions.

You can submit your own questions to the umpires here. 

"We were about to play a really vital game in the league. It had been raining, on and off, all week, and it's true the ground was slippery, but we were keen to play the match, and so were the other side. The umpires inspected the pitch twice and eventually called off play, even though both captains wanted to continue. Are the umpires allowed to do this?"

They're not only allowed to, they're obliged to do this!

There is a big difference between playing conditions being just unsuitable and them being 'unreasonable' or 'dangerous'. Unreasonable is for exceptional circumstances when to play would not be sensible and it really does mean exceptional and should not be used for inclement weather. If the conditions are dangerous there will be no play.

In this case, the umpires judged that there was an obvious and foreseeable risk of someone being injured.

They had to use their duty of care to prevent this happening. Sorry, but this was done for everyone's safety!

The re-issue of the Laws in October 2010 makes it clear that the umpires have sole and complete responsibility for whether play is to take place. The captains are no longer involved and therefore play will not continue even if both captains want to play in poor conditions. 






Want more tips on how to umpire? Get instant access to The Umpiring Survival Guide on PitchVision Academy. Now with a free bonus 91 page quizbook.



Broadcast Your Cricket Matches!

Ever wanted your skills to be shown to the world? PV/MATCH is the revolutionary product for cricket clubs and schools to stream matches, upload HD highlights instantly to Twitter and Facebook and make you a hero!

PV/MATCH let's you score the game, record video of each ball, share it and use the outcomes to take to training and improve you further.

Click here for details.


a basic question: what happens if the batting team need say 2 runs to win with 1 wicket in hand, and the batsman hits the ball high, and completes 2 runs before the catch is taken(fairly). Is the ball dead at the point they complete the runs and the win goes to the batting side or is the catch counted, thereby giving the fielding side a win?

Md if the catch is taken then no runs are added to the total, so the fielding side wins.

a general question what if 1 run is needed with 1 wicket in hand and and the batsman is stumped of a wide would the result read won by 0 wickets??

No the result would be won by 1 wicket because as soon as the ball is wide the game is over, the ball goes dead and the stumping does not apply.