Umpires Corner: Hitting the ball twice and stumped off a dead ball? | Cricket coaching, fitness and tips

Umpires Corner: Hitting the ball twice and stumped off a dead ball?

This edition of Umpires Corner in association with the International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring covers some more tricky questions of the Laws.

Many times on the pitch (and after the game) we have come to discuss whether a controversial situation should be allowed or not. There are precious few players with a deep enough understanding of the laws for our arguments to be resolved, but many times it's the players who also act as umpires. Now we can consult a team of expert experienced umpires for the answers to those tricky questions.

You can submit your own questions to the umpires here.

Lawfully hitting the ball twice

MiCricketCoach reader Virender emailed in with this question:



“I wanted to know if a batsman has played a defensive shot and the ball is about to hit the stumps .So can he block the ball from hitting the stumps by legs or ball?

He may use his bat or person provided it is done solely to protect his wicket.


Whether it is by means of his bat or his person, any second contact is defined as a 'strike'. 

Provided he does not obstruct a catch from being attempted, he may strike the ball more than once in defence of his wicket.

Law 34 Hit the ball twice (Open Learning Manual Page 103)


Stumped – off a dead ball?

“Everybody got very agitated recently about a stumping. A slow bowler bowled a ball which he thought just touched the outside edge of the bat. The ‘keeper took it, appealed for the catch, then instinctively whipped off the bails and appealed for a stumping. The umpire at the bowler’s end said ‘Not out’, quickly followed by ‘Over’. Immediately after this, the square-leg umpire gave the batsman out, Stumped. Surely the ball is dead the moment ‘Over’ is called?”

The ball does become dead at the call of Over. But the appeal doesn’t die at that moment!

Any action that takes place before the call of Over is still valid until the ball next comes into play when the bowler begins his run-up or, if he has no run-up, his bowling action to deliver the next ball – unless Time has been called – and so an answer to that appeal must be given.

Law 27.3 Appeals (Open Learning Manual Page 85)

Remember you can submit your questions here, or leave a comment in the box below.

Image credit: alister667



Want more tips on how to umpire? Get instant access to The Umpiring Survival Guide on PitchVision Academy. Now with a free bonus 91 page quizbook.



Broadcast Your Cricket Matches!

Ever wanted your skills to be shown to the world? PV/MATCH is the revolutionary product for cricket clubs and schools to stream matches, upload HD highlights instantly to Twitter and Facebook and make you a hero!

PV/MATCH let's you score the game, record video of each ball, share it and use the outcomes to take to training and improve you further.

Click here for details.


In a match the ball slipped on delivery and landed, rolled at stop almost at point. the batsman charged at it and hit it through the point fielder for four.
We, the fielding side claimed to the umpire that the ball was dead, or a no ball. He signalled 4 ?

I think the umpire got it right, check out this example from Alan Border which is almost identical to what you described:

Not quite true, the law has been clarified since those heady days: click here for the answer

As soon as the ball rolls and stops, the umpire should first call it as a No Ball and then immediately 'Dead Ball.

Only 01 run for no ball will be counted.