Umpires Corner: Tossing up and overthrow confusion | Cricket coaching, fitness and tips

Umpires Corner: Tossing up and overthrow confusion

This edition of Umpires Corner in association with the International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring covers some more tricky questions of the Laws.

Many times on the pitch (and after the game) we have come to discuss whether a controversial situation should be allowed or not. There are precious few players with a deep enough understanding of the laws for our arguments to be resolved, but many times it's the players who also act as umpires. Now we can consult a team of expert experienced umpires for the answers to those tricky questions.

You can submit your own questions to the umpires here.

Secretary takes charge


"We were all very late arriving at the ground for the game. The only club member who had arrived more than fifteen minutes before the start of play was our Club Secretary, who is also our scorer. When we arrived we discovered that he had given in the team list and tossed up. Is he allowed to do this?"”


Unless League or competition rules say otherwise, the Laws state that, at the latest, the toss must take place fifteen minutes before the scheduled start of play, and after the nominated team list has been given to the umpires. Anyone can do this.

But after the toss, any further decisions can only be made by a member of the nominated team, so I hope your Hon. Sec. didn’t try to decide whether your side should bat or bowl!

Law 1.3 The Toss (Open Learning Manual Page 4)

Overthrow confusion

"Like a lot of players, I often umpire for a short spell while our side is batting. Recently I got very confused with overthrows. The batsman hit the ball and ran. He completed the first run, and had crossed with his partner on the second, when the ball was hurled in to the ‘keeper, who missed it. By the time it went over the boundary, the batsmen had completed their third run. I thought all this should total seven runs. Was I right?"

No. The correct answer here is six runs. In this situation, the overthrows are calculated from the moment the fielder throws the ball, not the moment it crosses the boundary. At the instant of the throw, having crossed on their second run, they score two. Add four for the overthrow to the boundary: Total six.

Law 19.6 Boundaries (Open Learning Manual Page 60)

Remember you can submit your own umpiring and scoring questions here.




Want more tips on how to umpire? Get instant access to The Umpiring Survival Guide on PitchVision Academy. Now with a free bonus 91 page quizbook.



Broadcast Your Cricket Matches!

Ever wanted your skills to be shown to the world? PV/MATCH is the revolutionary product for cricket clubs and schools to stream matches, upload HD highlights instantly to Twitter and Facebook and make you a hero!

PV/MATCH let's you score the game, record video of each ball, share it and use the outcomes to take to training and improve you further.

Click here for details.


More confusion with overthrows, if the batsmen have run one before the fielder throws the ball, the keeper misses the ball and the ball then crosses the boundary, which batsmen takes strike? the original striker, although he is at the non-strikers end or the batsman now standing at the strikers end?


The batsmen stay as they are with the chap who hit the ball now at the non strikers end.

Yesterday, in a crucial encounter between Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier Leaque there was shot played by nayar to the deep square leg region and the batsmeen settled for one. While the throw returns from the boundary fielder the Leg Umpire caught in between the throuw and the wicket keeper. In such instance the umpire has to move away or avoid the through hitting him and heading for an over through. But the umpire has not even bouthered to see where the ball actually is. It is an umpiring error and the batsmen scampered for another run as they realised and started running after it hit the umpire. The extra run is been awarded in favour of the batting team. I would like to know whether the umpiring decision of awarding the extra run is correct in terms of umpiring error.

I heard a commentator mention this rule in a match a long time ago. I would appreciate it if you told me if this is correct. Let's say the batsman gets beaten and the wicketkeeper, standing back, catches the ball. The batsmen attempt to take a run. The wicketkeeper, with his gloves on, throws the ball at the wicket and it deflects off the wicket. The batsmen run a second run. The second overthrow run is not granted. However, if the keeper removes his outer glove and attempts to run out the batsman, then the overthrow run is granted as the ball is not dead. Is that right?

I had a issue close to this during our last season. Playing in a Twenty20 game, the batsman played and missed, i as keeper caught the ball then threw it back to the bowler, unfortunatly it went over his head and the batsman ran a single. To me, the ball was the, the ruling the umpire gave was 'in their opinion, the ball is dead when both sidesarent looking to score runs/take wkts'. Which i wasnt considering i was throwing the ball to the bowler not at the stumps. Anyone can help on this?

Until the ball comes to COMPLETE rest, it may not be considered as DEAD BALL.In your case, it is still in play as it was not collected fully by the bowler.Perhaps if you threw it to a slip fielder and then after say some reasonable time when the bowler was returning to his run up mark and then this had happened, then it would be a dead ball.As you directly collected and threw it to the bowler immediately after the ball was played and missed by the batsman, the run is allowed and it is not a Dead Ball.


Batsman hit ball & took one run, and overthtow happened who will the owner for the overthrow runs team or the batsman????

The batsman.

While the batsman and runner were running, the ball, hit by the batsman, was overthrown.The overthrown ball hit the runner side wicket and kept rolling. The runner was within the grease when the ball hit the stumps and rolled off. The umpire called the ball 'dead' because it disturbed the runner side wickets and refused the runs taken by overthrow.Is the umpire right? Thank you

No he wasn't. the ball is still live after striking the stumps unless a wicket falls. There are certain exceptions but under normal circumstances the ball stays in play. If you want to know more about when the ball is dead have a look at Chapter 2 of my interactive course on umpiring.

Non- Striker batman now play , because batsman make one run so he can,t stike.

Cricket web site for cricket lovers, can register and be rated within your city and much more. All the very best.

hello , any one can explain me the rule of over throw ball?? if in case of bats man played ball, fielder field it & throw it back to non striker end, at non striker end ball hits on runner's bat & changes the direction of ball. in that case is bats men can go for en extra runs as overthrow ???

Hi nil, yes the batsman can run again but they rarely do as a matter of sportsmanship. The Laws do allow it though.

playing cricket on saturday i hit the ball towards the boundary and the fielder pulled it up just inside and went to throw it back to another fieldsman beside him but the ball went over the fence on the full what would be the ruling.

While i was doing an umpire in a village area tournament, i face a rare incident. The batsman hit the ball and was running for a run but overthrow allow them cross for 3rd run, but for another overthrow the batsman were running for the 4th run but before that the ball crosses over the boundary rope. Will it be given eight or seven run?

While i was doing an umpire in a village area tournament, i face a rare incident. The batsman hit the ball and was running for a run but overthrow allow them cross for 3rd run, but for another overthrow the batsman were running for the 4th run but before that the ball crosses over the boundary rope. Will it be given eight or seven run?

That's covered by Law 19.7:

"f the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder the runs scored shall be... the allowance for the boundary... and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act."

So if they run 3 it's 4+3=7. If they have crossed for the 4th, it's 8!

If the ball is wide, keeper catch the ball at that time non striker was out of the reach. Keeper throw the ball to the bowler. Bowler was miss the Ball and fielders also try to stop the ball but it reach the boundary line. its a Boundary or not?

If the batsman compleated one they will get 5runs and the last ball non striker will be the new striker

Last of the over and batsman A takes single run and while going for second run the overthrow goes for four runs so how many runs will be counted in for batsman's account and who will take strike for next over

A batsman run for a bye and keeper throws the ball to the bowler,if the ball runs to the boundary then is this considered as 4 runs??

During over thorough, if the ball is connected with the bat of a batsman and then goes to boundary. should it declared as 4 runs or it considered as dead after touches with batsman bat.

The exact position when throw was actually made is not clear. But it is presumed that the batsmen completed one run and there is an overthrow missed by the WK and the ball went for four. The position of batsmen remain the same when they take a run. 5 runs are scored and the non striker who is now at the striker's end will take the strike.

This is very much a point of fact decision before the umpires on the field of play. Wk throwing at the bowler's end too quickly without waiting for a moment for the batsmen to cease to regard the ball in play, is a point to be noted. In fact, WK gathers the ball, the ball is considered to be dead or when he passes the ball to any close in fielder it is presumed to be dead, but looking at the given narration, one cannot guarantee the ball to be dead unless either batsman has not left the crease to take any possible single in form of a bye.

Its a point of fact decision and umpire has to decide on what exact happened at that time.

Suhas Sapre

In a crucial situation such incident takes place. As soon as the ball is delivered the batsman would come out of the crease and try to drive and misses, at the moment the NS always love to take runs and he just starts and is half way down the wicket, WK throws at either end and the overthrow goes for 4 in front of the wicket. The umpire must judge whether the throw was made after batsmen had crossed, in that case 5 runs would be scored. Bowler's end umpire would signal bye followed with boundary and would show his open palm to indicate 5 runs to the Scorer.

Suhas Sapre