Phil sent in a question and, frankly, it's one I thought the PitchVision readers would be able to help.
Here it is:
"Having played league cricket 26 years and taken a wicket or two, I have now moved city. The ground where I now play is very open and there is a strong breeze blowing from left to right. As an away swing bowler I have quickly accepted that I cannot swing it away to a right-hander when the wind is blowing across. Is this incorrect of me? Of course, I would assume a high class swing bowler would have no trouble but I am unsure whether it is possible or not"
So, what do you think?
My opinion is that local knowledge is crucial here. Certainly by the sounds of it, Phil is fighting a losing battle against the force of the wind.
However, swing bowling is as much an art as it is a science. That means sometimes things happen that make no sense and the ball will swing into the wind.
There are a lot of moving parts to consider:
- the ball quality and condition
- the bowler's pace and action
- the speed of the wind
- the type of wind (gusty or consistent)
- Angle of the seam
If other factors fall into place then I would never rule out swinging it away before you have bowled a ball.
So, Phil is best trying to swing it away to see what happens. Experiment with the pace bowled, seam position and length of delivery. See what happens.
If the ball doesn't deviate then it's time to go to plan B. Perhaps bowling wide outside off stump to a 6/3 or 7/2 field.
But them, I'm not a swing bowler who has to struggle with the wind. Maybe you are, so is it a lost cause for Phil?
Leave a comment and let us know your experiences.