Laws of cricket: Run out with an elbow?
This edition of Laws of Cricket, in association with the International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring, covers some more tricky questions of the Laws.
Many times on the pitch (and after the game) we have come to discuss whether a controversial situation should be allowed or not. There are precious few players with a deep enough understanding of the laws for our arguments to be resolved, but many times it's the players who also act as umpires. Now we can consult a team of expert experienced umpires for the answers to those tricky questions.
You can submit your own questions to the umpires here.
Run out with an elbow?
"We were in a very exciting run-chase. My pal, who was on strike, hit the ball and called me for a sharp single. The fielder did a great job, running in, picking up and firing the ball back to the ‘keeper, all in one movement. I had nearly made my ground when the ‘keeper took off the bails with his left elbow, not with the ball, which was in his left hand, and then appealed. I was given out Run out. Surely the umpire was wrong to do this?"
Assuming you had not made your ground, no, he wasn’t. In this situation the Law permits the use of the arm in breaking the wicket, provided the ball is in the same hand at that moment.
But, if the ‘keeper had broken the wicket with his left arm with the ball in his other hand, you should not be given out.
- Login to post comments
Keeper took of the bails with the elbow, batsman short of his ground! Whats should be the umpire's call
The bails have to be hit with the ball, otherwise it's not out.
(Unless of course the ball is in the same hand as the elbow, as you read in the article)